Trail Ride Pack List

Gregory Miwok 18 pack...
Gregory Miwok 18 pack…

I have a terrible memory. One way I make up for that is to keep my pack loaded with essentials so I never have to think twice before a ride and can just grab it. That works pretty well. Lately I’ve dug around my pack for stuff and not found it which let me know it was time to unpack the contents and make sure I had everything I needed.

Overtime I have a bad habit of using stuff and not replacing it.

The Pack

Gregory Miwok 18 I think??? [It’s been a while and I covered up the model name with a Dirt Hombres patch.] been using this for a couple years now. It’s pretty good for size as long as I am not carry my DSLR on a ride. I can fit my pads in the external pockets for the ride up logging roads and then fit them for bombing down. Holds enough for a day ride with extra snacks and 3L of water. Fits me pretty well and doesn’t flop around when I am riding. The back does get sweaty, but I have not enjoyed any of the packs with a ventilated back that I have tried. I really like the mesh waist belt pockets and use them a lot.

The pack isn’t waterproof so I pack my gear expecting it to get wet during the winter. I would like to try a lumbar style pack that keeps the weight lower, but I haven’t found one that I thought was worth the money yet.

A lot of shit!
A lot of shit!

The Gear

The photo shows my general purpose load.

  • Small F/A Kit [add in Advil, Steri-Strips and extra Band Aids]
  • Eye drops [mostly for summer dust]
  • Trail Map for Hartland [most frequent local riding destination]
  • Cash for post ride beer and burger!
  • InReach satellite messenger [check charge once a month]
  • Snacks
  • Camera [lives in mesh waist belt pockets for easy access]
  • Emergency windbreaker [I use this a fair bit. Very handy!]
  • Electrical tape
  • Zip ties
  • Tire pump
  • Shock pump
  • CO2 inflator [helpful for setting bead on tubeless tire]
  • Spare Stan’s valve stem
  • Tubeless tire plugs and tool
  • Tire levers
  • Patch kit
  • Kevlar emergency spoke
  • Multi-tool with chain tool
  • Mini-Leatherman tool
  • Spare derailleur hangers for Nomad and Mach 6
  • Spare chain quick links for 10 and 11 speed chains
Out on the trail...
Out on the trail…
Leave a Reply

