Pivot Mach 6 Enduropacking…

IMG_0366
My Mach 6 loaded for a 2 day tour…

Looking back over the last 15yrs+ my bike touring setups have steadily moved from heavy to lighter and from paved to dirt. One idea I’m keen on is to be able to tour for a couple days on my FS long travel bike self-contained or many days with resupply stops.

Long travel and slack angles means tackling rough steep techy terrain becomes an option that’s fun…not just survivable. Assuming I can pair down my gear enough to deal with a bike that’s not framebag friendly.

So I’m working on the setup you see above with my Pivot Mach 6.

IMG_0378
Tight cockpit, but lots going on here…

Of course as I get an even lighter enduropacking rig working well there’s no reason not to go back to the Krampus and put it on a diet for a lot of rides. One thing I can say for sure is that everytime I’ve downsized my gear I’ve smiled more as I pedal.

For my first kick at the cat I didn’t want to go too extreme in terms of minimal gear to see how things would shake out. So I pretty much packed all my usual bikepacking gear less stove/fuel and cooking kit.

I have a complete solo UL tent, sleeping pad and bag. Full set of tools and spares. FA kit + InReach, GPS, headlamp and batteries. TP and toiletries. Enough dry food that I can leave on day 1 ride all day, camp and ride all day 2 before getting back to resupply.

In practice I probably wouldn’t do this kind of tour alone due to the likelihood of injury and/or bike damage in techy terrain. So I can split tools/emergency gear and shelter.

I also wouldn’t likely take a tent. I’d either go with a tarp if I am solo….or the footprint, poles and fly of my 2 person UL tent for a deluxe tarp shelter.

All that to say this is the max I’d ever carry.

spock-5-bill-canada_Design-Canada-Twitter-640x480
I stuffed a pile of gear onto my bike…

I packed the bike and took it on one of my favourite loops that showcases a solid selection of coastal BC terrain….think rocky rooty rolling terrain to start with lots of tight turns in the trees….then a smoother climbing trail to gain elevation with periodic rock features to get up….lots of big rocks at the top to punch over and down…and a solid downhill of steep loose dirt…with lots of turns, small drops, steep rock rollers and roots….with a few wooden structures to deal with.

What I would call middle of the road for our local trails. Not deadly or crazy strenuous, but not easy for very long…especially coming down.

IMG_0369
Tent poles and Thermarest up front…

How did it work?

I’m of two minds…on one hand it was so capable I couldn’t help smiling. I rode all the same lines I do unloaded and I made every tech section on the trail. I walked the steepest most demanding climb more for a sense of caution than it couldn’t be done…I’m too old to get hurt on a test run! Looking at it the other way the weight in my pack [which was mostly bulky light stuff other than water] definitely affected my riding. While I rode virtually everything including the drops it wasn’t full attack mode. Perhaps that’s not realistic for a enduropacking setup, but I’m really keen to go through my gear and drop my pack weight significantly [ditch tent, quilt vs. sleeping bag and some cold weather gear] as well as attach more to the bike.

I feel like I am not far off the promised land where I can shred at nearly normal levels [on middle of the road gnar] with camping gear….that will be awesome! I’ve got some local tour ideas in mind to test out a lighter setup and prove the concept further. I know I am not breaking any new ground…..but for me this is pretty exciting.

IMG_0370
A small frame bag could fit under the shock and the water bottle is filled with tools…
4 thoughts on “Pivot Mach 6 Enduropacking…

  1. That looks like a big pack. 35L or so? I think if you could stuff all the non-bike-borne stuff into a Talon 22, or something nearly as small, you’d be set. I can currently do that with my “base weight”, but no food or water.

    Keen to see what you come up with, as I’ve been playing with similar ideas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

