Fall No Buying Update – 2016

Dark and delicious fall riding...
Dark and delicious fall riding with A-Man…

It’s been a while since my last update. The No Buying Updates were getting boring like weather forecasts in SoCal! 😉 Click on this link if you have no idea what I am talking about.

10 months down and the resolution is going strong. The obvious benefit is some additional saved $$. I definitely have avoided buying gear this year that I would have otherwise have spent money on, but really that’s not the main thing I am taking away from this exercise. The lack of gear buying this year has made me appreciate how much awesome stuff I already own and how little enjoyment I get from spending money. Buying, owning and maintaining gear is really dull. On the other hand being outside using my stuff is a lot of fun. Obviously you need to buy gear in order to have gear to use, but it’s easy to convince yourself that buying more stuff enables your outdoor adventures when in reality beyond a certain, relatively low level, that next purchase is just chaining you to your desk a bit more since you have to work to pay for the new gear.

I’m not headed onto some extreme minimalist tip. I’m just going to stay focused on the direct connection between my spending and my freedom.

My Nomad Mk2 winter whip...
My Nomad Mk2 winter whip…

On a more interesting note it’s fall so I have my 8yr old Santa Cruz Nomad Mk2 out and tuned up for another winter of shredding. This bike takes so little maintenance despite its role as my slop hunting winter bike that I am always amazed with how easy it is to get it ready for the new season. The wet season on Vancouver Island means a lot of slipping and sliding plus a whole different set of riding skills. The same trails feel totally different when traction is at a premium. Braking and pedalling have to be done strategically whenever you get grip. I also have to break out my “disco hip thrust” move a lot more. Using momentum and body english is key in the winter when cranking the pedals doesn’t always result in the bike moving forward.

I’m still feeling a bit awkward with the switch to a new bike and the moist trails, but I know that’s temporary. By January our PNWet riding goodness will seem totally normal and I’ll be loving it. These transitions are a bit painful – especially to the ego. However, they also keep our riding fresh and challenging.

Whenever I feel like complaining I remember when I lived in Calgary and my dirt riding season was 4 months long. Yikes! 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

